Outside Willow CottageLocated in the “Dark Skies” area of Northumberland, Willow Cottage is a Grade II listed “chocolate box cottage” located in the charming village of Wark which is set on the banks of the river Tyne.  The village is situated not far from Hexham, Kielder Water and Forest Park,  the Kielder Observatory (dark skies) and Hadrian’s Wall. Indeed, there are probably stones from the wall in Willow Cottage.

The name Wark is derived from the Viking word for Earthworks and refers to the mound at the south of the village, where a meeting hall once stood.

Willow Cottage is set back from the road, access is via a stone bridge over the burn and the cottage is a hidden gem which has had a total renovation incorporating modern conveniences while retaining its 200-year listing ambience and is complete with a fabulous four-poster bed, private parking (2 cars) and modern facilities including free high speed Fibre Internet, air source heat pump central heating (radiators) and a range of FreeSat channels on the large flat-screen TV. There is a large multi-fuel stove in the living room. In all, a great combination of the traditional and the new!

Willow Cottage

The cottage is ideally suited for a variety of activities including walks, shooting, hiking, cycling and of course golf at the Bellingham Golf Club. There are several nearby pubs and restaurants, a post office with shop and a village farm store with excellent sausages and cheesecake! There is a Co-op just up the road in Bellingham.

This superb self-catering cottage (sleeps 2+2+1) enjoys a rural setting and is conveniently situated around 100m outside of the pretty North Tyne village of Wark is just at the edge of the village and is a stone’s throw from the beautiful North Tyne village. There are 3 pubs, 2 restaurants, a well-equipped shop and post office.

Hospitality products are provided, as are linen and towels, dressing gowns, tea, coffee, milk etc. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need for large breakfasts or a cosy night in front of the fire. The cottage has also modern air-source heat-pump heating with thermostatically controlled radiators.

The origins of Wark date back to the presumed presence of an Anglo-Saxon lordly residence or meeting hall (or moot) on the mound now known as Moat Hill. This overlooks the North Tyne river at what is now the south end of the village. It can be found a short distance to the east of the main road on the opposite side to the Battlesteads Hotel. This same strategic site was then used by Prince Henry of Scotland for a motte and bailey castle after he was made Earl of Northumberland in 1139.

In the 1300s a pele tower was built here, though this was destroyed in 1538. Moat Hill later became the site of a manor house, built in 1676, but almost nothing remains of this today. Part of the site is occupied by new homes.

Leave a Reply